Nominations Open for 2024 MSDC Awards November 9, 2023

Written by MSDC Staff

Nominations are now open for the 2024 MSDC Awards, to be presented at our awards ceremony, the Capital Healthcare Honors.

For over 80 years, MSDC has been recognizing members, healthcare professionals, and organizations for their service to the Society, DC, and healthcare. MSDC's Awards Committee (composed of MSDC members) selects nominees from member submissions. This year, nominations for awards are open now and close November 30, 2023.

The four award categories are:

  • Certificate of Meritorious Service: Presented to a physician member in recognition of distinguished service to the medical profession. Previous awardees include Dr. Edward Davison, Dr. Margaret Nicholson, Dr. Montague Cobb, Dr. Warren Strudwick, Dr. Edward Rankin, Dr. Jehan El-Bayoumi, and Dr. Sara Imershein.
  • Dr. Charles H. Epps III Community Service Award: Presented to a physician member for outstanding public service to the community. Previous awardees include Dr. Marvin Korengold, Dr. Roselyn P. Epps, Dr. Janelle Goetcheus, Dr. Jeffrey Akman, Dr. Reginald Robinson, and Dr. Princy Kumar.
  • Distinguished Service Award: Presented to a physician member for outstanding service to the Medical Society of the District of Columbia. Previous awardees include Dr. David Seitzman, Dr. Thomas Curtin, Dr. Raymond Scalettar, Dr. Roselyn E. Epps, and Dr. Desiree Pineda.
  • John Benjamin Nichols Award: Presented to a lay person, organization, or both, in recognition of outstanding contributions toward improving the health of the community. Previous awardees include WTOP TV, Meals on Wheels, The Honorable Polly Shackleton, Sister Carol Keehan, Whitman-Walker Health, and Mary's Center.

You can nominate awardees here or email You may nominate multiple individuals for an award or multiple individuals for multiple awards, but please do not nominate one person for multiple awards.

The 2024 Capital Healthcare Honors will take place in spring 2024 at a date and time to be announced. To view information on the 2023 ceremony, click here.