MSDC Awards Ceremony May 14, 2021 5:30 PM to 7:30 PM

Spring Awards Ceremony
Friday, May 14
5:30 - 7:30 PM

Honoring healthcare heroes

Dr. Tamika Auguste
Dr. Maria Aramburu 
Dr. Anjali Malik
Dr. Walter Faggett and Mr. Calvin Smith (Ward 8 Health Council)
Dr. Terry Fairbanks
Dr. Joseph Gutierrez

Join us for an evening celebration honoring healthcare luminaries who exemplify service, commitment and leadership. On May 14, MSDC will present its spring awards for outstanding contributions to the city, public health, profession and the Medical Society. Our honoress are pillars of their community, profession and public health and their leadership helps to make the District a better place to practice medicine. In addition, the Medical Society and Alliance Foundation will present a scholarship award. 

As part of the online event, there will be two networking receptions, one before the ceremony and one following the ceremony.  Socialize online with the honorees, other healthcare luminaries, and the healthcare community at large. 


Dr. Charles H. Epps, III Community Service Award
Tamika Auguste, MD

Dr. Auguste is a recognized physician leader in her city and her profession. She chairs the OB/GYN Clinical Practice Council at MedStar Washington Hospital Center where she is also interim chair of the Women's and Infants' Services, and she has served multiple leadership roles with the DC section of the American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists. She is a vocal patient advocate before the DC Council, on Capitol Hill, and throughout the community. She is being recognized for outstanding public service to the community.

Distinguished Service Award

2020 Women in Medicine Co-chairs
Maria Aramburu, MD, and Anjali Malik, MD

Drs. Aramburu and Malik serve as co-chairs of MSDC's Women in Medicine Section, which has hosted multiple MSDC events since its inception and coordinated numerous Washington Healthcare on Wednesday (WHOW) programs over the past year. The diverse, relevant topics they have tackled include social media's role in advocacy, climate change’s impact on health, imposter syndrome and parenting, to name just a few. In addition to serving as co-chair, each honoree is noteworthy for her individual contributions to the Medical Society: Dr. Malik serves on the advocacy committee and Dr. Aramburu is a COVID Clinician Champion. They are both being recognized for outstanding service to the Medical Society.

John Benjamin Nichols Award

Ward 8 Health Council
Walter Faggett, MD, and Calvin Smith

Long before “health equity” entered the popular vernacular, the Ward 8 Health Council has been dedicated to bettering the health of the residents who live in Ward 8. The Council has developed a dynamic forum for convening physicians, healthcare advocates and community leaders with a shared sense of purpose and commitment to improving the health of Ward 8 residents through innovative public/private partnerships. The Ward 8 Health Council is being recognized for its outstanding contributions toward improving the health of the community

John Benjamin Nichols Award

Terry Fairbanks, MD

Dr. Terry Fairbanks is an acclaimed patient safety leader who serves as vice president of quality and safety at MedStar Health, founding director of the National Center for Human Factors in Healthcare, and professor of emergency medicine at Georgetown University. During his tenure he has improved patient safety, advanced safety science and mentored numerous healthcare professionals. He is being recognized for outstanding contributions toward improving the health of the community.

President's Award

Joseph Gutierrez, MD

Having already received numerous MSDC accolades, Dr. Joseph Gutierrez exemplifies lifetime service and excellence that is befitting the President’s Award. He has served twice as president of the Medical Society of the District of Columbia, multiple terms as chair of MSDC’s AMA Delegation, and for decades as a leader in the American Medical Association. Trained as a surgeon, he remains an active learner, leader and contributor to the Medical Society, the profession, and the Washington, DC region.

In addition, MSDC’s charitable arm, the Medical Society and Alliance Foundation, will present its allied health scholarship to Thinzar Thant. 




                                                    Friend of MSDC
MHLOGO-2019_MSH_RGB_Pos_V-V1 (002)


Pia Duryea

  • Main: 202-355-9414