Important Issues


Behavioral Health

Learn More

Women's Health

Learn More

Opioid Policy

Learn More

Health Equity

Learn More

Physician Practice

Learn More

MSDC Announces 2023 Capital Healthcare Honorees

Feb 9, 2023, 08:05 AM by MSDC Staff
MSDC looks forward to recognizing the contributions of Drs. Constance Bohon, John Larsen, Peter Lavine, and James Taylor to the District and medicine.

2023 Capital Healthcare Honorees Are Leaders in Women’s Health, Health Equity, Healthcare Reform, and Mentorship

Washington, D.C., February 9, 2023 – The Medical Society of the District of Columbia (MSDC), the largest medical organization in the District representing metropolitan Washington physicians, is pleased to announce the winners of the 2023 Capital Healthcare Honors, presented by MSDC. The awards ceremony and dinner will take place on Friday evening, May 5, 2023, where news happen, at the National Press Club, located at 529 14th Street NW, Washington, DC 20045.  

The Capital Healthcare Honors is a gala event where healthcare and honor meet, and this year’s recipients are deserving of honor. The recipients are renowned for the work to improve public health in the areas of women’s health, health equity, and mentorship, and fight for healthcare reform. The event will bring together healthcare leaders and professionals from across metropolitan Washington to recognize the healthcare heroes and dignitaries who have strived to preserve the health and wellbeing of the nation’s capital, the Medical Society, and the profession.

MSDC President Dr. Susanne Bathgate said, “This year’s Capital Healthcare Honorees have a legacy of service, leadership, and commitment to medicine. The achievements of these physicians have been critical to the promotion and improvement of the health and wellbeing of our nation's capital.”  Honorees were nominated by MSDC membership and selected by a panel of previous MSDC award winners.

The 2023 Capital Healthcare Honorees are:

Constance Bohon – Dr. Charles H. Epps, III Community Service Award (in recognition of outstanding public service to the community)

Dr. Bohon is being recognized for her work on women’s health and maternal health, especially serving as an advisor to the District on maternal health issues.

John Larsen, MD (posthumous) – Distinguished Service Award (in recognition of service to the Medical Society)

Dr. Larsen is being recognized posthumously for his years of mentorship of physician leaders, including MSDC leaders, and service to the Medical Society.

Peter Lavine, MD – Certificate of Meritorious Service (in recognition of distinguished service to the medical profession)

Dr. Lavine is being recognized for his leadership on physician practice issues with MSDC and the AMA and for District residents.

James Taylor, MD – John Benjamin Nichols Award, presented by UnitedHealthcare (in recognition of outstanding contributions toward improving the health of the community)

Dr. Taylor is being recognized for research into sickle cell disease and leadership of the groundbreaking work at Howard University’s Center for Sickle Cell Disease.

The awards will be presented on Friday evening, May 5, 2023, at the National Press Club in Washington, D.C. The celebration will feature a full dinner, awards ceremony, and networking receptions. For information on the 2023 Capital Healthcare Honors, the 2023 Honorees, and how to attend or support the event, visit

Load more comments
New code